Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Evaporating Clay Collection Zones - New Mod Ideas  (Read 404 times)

Meph

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • worldbicyclist
Evaporating Clay Collection Zones - New Mod Ideas
« on: August 10, 2013, 10:55:35 am »

I made a discovery.

Everyone knows that clay is unlimited. I started playing a bit around and noticed that if you change FIRED_MAT on the clay, it is not accepted as clay anymore. Logically, this should mean that all inorganics with FIRED_MAT would be accepted as clay. This is correct. They also need the soil tag. It would look like this:
[SOIL][MATERIAL_REACTION_PRODUCT:FIRED_MAT:INORGANIC:WHATEVER]

If you add this to any inorganic, lets say gabbro and granite, then they wont leave any boulders when mined, but unlimited gabbro/granite boulders can be collected.

Now, if you add [ITEM_SYMBOL:''] to it, you can collect items that look very differently, it does not have to be a boulder.

If you add ENVIMONMENT_SPEC:INORGANIC:WHATEVER:CLUSTERONE:, then you can have rare finds while mining, that give you access to a specific, unlimited material.

To make it even more interesting, lets assume the inorganic mat does boil away at room temperature. While being dug, nothing happens, because soil doesnt leave boulders to boil away. But when collected, it would result in a cloud of gas affecting the worker.

Now all this modded stuff does not quite fit clay collection, so insolors string dump replacer can rename the hardcoded clay oven, or just the reaction to something else. "Collect clay" could be anything you want. Same goes for the clay-zone.