Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: caretaking tips for my small herd of poultry.  (Read 707 times)

cathartic rooster

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
caretaking tips for my small herd of poultry.
« on: July 27, 2013, 03:28:22 pm »

so hi, I am a noob at fortress mode, so I have a question. do I need to feed turkeys and chickens and such on grass, or can I store them underground? also, will 4 female turkeys, 1 male turkey, and the same for chickens and ducks support my fort with food or will I also need farm and hunting?

EDIT! : how do I butcher this opossum!?!? hunter shoots it and drops it on the floor. tell the butcher to butcher.. has nothing to butcher? I would like to deal with it before it rots on the living room floor...
« Last Edit: July 27, 2013, 03:36:51 pm by cathartic rooster »
The cup is studded with megalomania and failure.

BlackFlyme

• Bay Watcher
  • BlackFlyme cancels Work: Interrupted by bird.
    • View Profile
Re: caretaking tips for my small herd of poultry.
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2013, 03:47:45 pm »

Most egg-laying creatures such as birds, some snakes, and crocodiles don't need to graze, all you need to make them productive is to build and place enough nest boxes for every female so that they have a place to lay their eggs. Given that you have 12 egg-laying birds, you should have more than enough eggs to keep your fort fed for quite some time.

Though a small farm wouldn't hurt, as it will allow you to grow plants that will be needed to brew drinks for your dwarves.

Edit: Is the possum dead? Butchers won't butcher a living wild animal. If it is dead, is it outside? The default orders are to ignore outside refuse. This can be changed in the orders menu, which you can reach by pressing o. There is also a chance that it is too small to actually be butchered. If a creature is too small to give meat, it will be ignored.