Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: The Exceptional Timing of the Goblins  (Read 1819 times)

JerryvonKramer

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
The Exceptional Timing of the Goblins
« on: June 16, 2013, 05:18:47 pm »

So I was running a pretty successful fort. I'd got military up and running with three squads decked out in full armour. One set of axe dwarves, one set of crossbowers, and one set of mace dwarves.

My fortress was a work of mechanical efficiency. I'd even got both an ashery-->potash / ashery -->charcoal system going on with an endless supply of logs provided by trade.

I'd minted silver coins. I'd successfully bred a massive colony of peacocks and peahens who were providing 100s of eggs. Farms and food systems all good. I'd set up guard posts and patrols. I'd managed to seal off most of the map with a massive wall so that I essentially controlled anyone's route into the fortress.

I was sitting pretty.

It just so happened that a pack of coyotes had emerged and I thought I'd give my military a bit of a killing exercise, stretch the legs a bit. So they all abandoned their posts to go and kill a bit of canine. As it turned out this may have been quite fortuitous.

Just as my soldiers had set off up the mountain after these coyotes I received a startling message.

A DRAGON. A massive firebreathing dragon attacked my fortress front on. I mean it emerged on the map right next to entrance.

I'd set up two war jaguars at the outer most wall as a first line of defence. The Dragon just blasted these poor creatures out of the way. Instant kebab both of them.

I hurridly went about triggering my alarms pulling the lever to pull up my bridges to ensure the safety of most of my population.

I called back the soliders from their hunt. What followed was brutal. Luckily most of my chaps had shields on them, but it still took out 9 or 10 of them before they brought it down.