Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Race modding question - Making mining hard  (Read 785 times)

fasquardon

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Race modding question - Making mining hard
« on: March 25, 2013, 07:33:59 pm »

So, I've been mulling over an idea for adding a playable race to my games (which may never be good enough to be worthy of posting for others to play with - we'll see), and I was trying to figure out how I might make mining hard - but not impossible for these critters.

One idea I had was to make picks a high technology item - i.e. something that only mature fortresses could produce - but then, it would be hard to stop traders from bringing picks.  And as I understand it, basic workshops are unmoddable, so if dwarfs can make it in a basic workshop, any modded race would get the same basic workshops with the same reactions.    But I am pretty new to modding, so perhaps I am misunderstanding these things.

Another idea I had was to make the critters without a mining skill, or at the very least, a learning rate of zero in mining.  So mining would only be unlocked by building a special transformation chamber that produced a syndrome that changed a normal critter to a digging critter (i.e. one with a mining skill and that could learn mining).

But perhaps these are pipe dreams, and the game can't do what I want.   I thought I would ask the more experienced modders what their thoughts were?

Thanks in advance.

fasquardon

Meph

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • worldbicyclist
Re: Race modding question - Making mining hard
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2013, 07:47:07 pm »

Mining without mining skill is possible, but just as fast as an unlearned miner. It only slows you down a little.