Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Stop Activity In Given Area?  (Read 781 times)

RyuuTheWuffs

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Stop Activity In Given Area?
« on: October 19, 2012, 01:48:01 am »

I'm fairly new to the Dwarf Fortress mode, mostly been playing Adventurer since I'm more used to RPGs. Deciding to give it another shot (and after losing 3 fortresses) I finally got my first water reservoir semi-working, but I ran into an issue. My dwarves keep going into the reservoir to gather the rocks from inside, and knowing my luck some of them are going to end up getting stranded and drowning.
Thankfully they were able to gather them all before it became too deep, but I would like to know how to set a zone of non-activity. Or at least, deny a certain activity in an area. Is there any way to do this?

The Darkling Wolf

• Bay Watcher
  • Arf!
    • View Profile
    • Cataclysm - Dark Days Ahead
Re: Stop Activity In Given Area?
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2012, 02:26:42 am »

d/b/f will allow you to drag a selection box over an area to forbid all items and buildings within it. It'll prevent your dwarves from using said buildings or picking up any forbidden items.
My cabbages!
[Thunderfury, Blessed Blade of the Windseeker]

I am fat, eating is my great joy.

RyuuTheWuffs

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2012, 02:53:26 am »

Thank you very much!

Oaktree

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2012, 09:51:37 am »

Forbidding items (as mentioned) will remove the need for dwarves to go into that area unless they are using it as a path to get somewhere else.

Once you start defining burrows you can simply put areas outside of the burrows, or set the burrow to be off-limits to the dwarves in general.  There are some caveats:
1. Dwarves will cross non-burrow space to get to another valid burrow.