Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: What is wrong with DF on Mac?! HELP! [Fixed]  (Read 2357 times)

ESMP

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
What is wrong with DF on Mac?! HELP! [Fixed]
« on: August 30, 2012, 12:46:36 am »

Hi there!

I'm completely new to DF and so far it's been a traumatizing experience... not because of the game itself, but because I can't launch it!

Today, when I was about to leave from work, I downloaded and tried running the mac version of DF and it ran just fine. But when I got home and tried running DF it crashes on launch (and certainly I can't understand why) with the following error:

Last login: Thu Aug 30 00:06:06 on ttys000
server:~ ESMP$ /Users/ESMP/Desktop/df_osx/df ; exit;
Loading bindings from data/init/interface.txt
/Users/ESMP/Desktop/df_osx/df: line 12:  7852 Bus error: 10           ./dwarfort.exe
logout

[Process completed]

Now... I'm starting to go berserk because I just don't get it... both are desktop computers (iMac), both have Mountain Lion installed, both have XQuartz installed and yet... I can't make my home iMac to launch the game... Please... can someone help here?

I'm trying to run the latest version 0.34.11.

Cheers,

- Eduardo
« Last Edit: September 04, 2012, 03:24:26 am by ESMP »

i2amroy

• Bay Watcher
  • Cats, ruling the world one dwarf at a time
    • View Profile
Re: What is wrong with DF on Mac?! HELP!
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2012, 03:10:35 am »

My first guess would be that you might have accidentally corrupted part of your DF install on your home computer. Bus errors will show up when the code attempts to reference stored information that has since been moved or stored in an invalid location, so redownloading and reinstalling DF would be my first thought at a solution.