Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Shouldn't I be able assign all 10 skill points for each dwarf?  (Read 3400 times)

Korthal Burgatul

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile

I'm new to DF and looking forward to playing, but I haven't quite managed to get to embarkation yet due to two features I don't understand or possibly a bug.

Issue 1
When I am trying to assign skills to my group of explorers I am able to assign all ten for each dwarf for three of them (it doesn't seem to matter which three), but can only assign one or two more points across the other four. If I reduce the skills for the ones I've assigned, I can share out a few more points, but even then it's not 1 to 1.

This leaves me with something like:

dwarf 1     10
dwarf 2     10
dwarf 3     10
dwarf 4     8
dwarf 5     0
dwarf 6     0
dwarf 7     0

What am I missing? Does this have to do with the dwarves personalities somehow?
I am using the latest download (34.11) for Linux as of yesterday (2012-07-02)

Issue 2
I also noticed the finder wasn't able to find a site with flux for two worlds in a row. I finally gave up on flux and settled for my third world, but that seems to be a known issue from reading some other posts and bug reports. Anyone have a work around?

Thanks for any help.

greycat

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Shouldn't I be able assign all 10 skill points for each dwarf?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2012, 02:30:49 pm »

You ran out of points.  Try decreasing, or not bringing, some of your equipment on the other tab.

In particular, I take 1 axe instead of 2, and I decrease food/booze (preferring to gather plants when I get there), and I don't bring any wooden items like crutches, splints, buckets, wheelbarrows -- I make those.  I bring leather instead of quivers, and make the quivers.  I sometimes bring a rope, though, because it takes a while for me to get a textile industry up.