Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Plumbing and Reservoirs  (Read 1108 times)

Hesuchia

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Plumbing and Reservoirs
« on: June 23, 2012, 01:21:35 pm »

Hey I'm pretty new to the game (been playing a couple weeks now) and have been spending most of my time trying to figure out the best way to organize stuff. Most of my dwarves by this point are complaining that there's no well, and I don't have a hospital yet because I want to build a decent expandable plumbing system first, in case the water becomes tainted by some disease or corpse. I've been relying on guides on the wiki for general layouts, but I haven't seen any newbie friendly reservoir tutorials.  I read stuff like "you can use pressure plates to automate filling the reservoir" but I'm not sure how to go about it.  The "well guide" wiki page appears to be incomplete in those sections for a couple versions now :P.

I was hoping somebody had some tips on building a self-cleaning plumbing system.  I have a channel dug out and paved that will eventually power a mist generator over my hospital, but I think they'd enjoy a well too.  Draining seems like it'll be annoying, since I've got my fortress in the center of the map and don't want to dig into a cavern and open that can of worms just yet.  The mechanics are my biggest concern though, especially pressure plates to automate filling it.

The mkv25 site points of interest are usually really hard for me to follow since people do such elaborate stuff.  Any good tips/layouts/guides/comfort?

Garath

• Bay Watcher
  • Helping to deforest the world
    • View Profile
Re: Plumbing and Reservoirs
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2012, 02:50:15 pm »