Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: I wrote a (Really) short story  (Read 1508 times)

Smitehappy

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
I wrote a (Really) short story
« on: May 03, 2012, 03:54:17 pm »

I'm a college student at Dakota State University. Being a Computer and Network security major means that I'm not exactly a literary genius. That didn't stop my Intro to Lit teacher from assigning me a short story assignment however and I wanted some input on the story I threw together in the last few hours. It's already three pages passed the required limit and I've had to leave out a lot of details to keep from running on too long so if a lot of details are missing (Like why no one noticed people in the adjacent buildings) don't think too much of it.

Without further ado.
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

*edit* See my comment below for an update
« Last Edit: June 25, 2012, 11:37:17 pm by Smitehappy »
Interestingly, Armok's name actually originates from arm_ok, a variable in one of Toady's earlier games that kept track of how many of your arms weren't missing.

AlStar

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: I wrote a (Really) short story
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2012, 04:26:11 pm »

I like it - spooky.

I don't really have time right this second to give a detailed critique, but just a couple minor things that popped out at me:

...while I was watching the sea I saw a group OF things moving through the water’s surface again, directly towards the building...

Luke, the amateur starwatchingER that lives on the forty-eighth floor told Gerry...

eerr

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2012, 05:07:53 pm »

http://www.winepressofwords.com/2011/06/what%E2%80%99s-your-perspective-writing-from-the-correct-point-of-view-2/

Namely inconsistent pov-!