Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: 2 ?'s, "thief has stolen a..." and difficulty  (Read 1520 times)

biznaz

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
2 ?'s, "thief has stolen a..." and difficulty
« on: March 21, 2008, 07:07:00 pm »

First I'd like to say thanks to The Great Toaded One, I'm loving DF.  I just started playing a couple days ago.  

I occasionally get an event that says "a thief has stolen a (pig tail sock)" or other item.  Is this kobold trickery or one of my own citizens?  And how would I put a stop to this?  I have one entrance, patrolled by wardogs, but it occurred to me that a thief could be stealing items of dead goblins (I usually don't let my followers outdoors).   I have developed a righteous commune, and in the eyes of Armok envy and theft are blasphemous!

Also I'm closing in on the default population cap, and I rarely get sieged.  When I do it's by 40 or 50 goblins that aren't mounted and don't have trolls.  They usually mill about outside my fortress, and stay there unless I unleash my crossbowmen in towers.  What should I look for on the world map to make the environment a little more hostile?  I understand Terrifying and Haunted locations have nasty wildlife, but what location would encourage more and better sieges?

oh and one more question, when do megabeasts come into the picture?

[ March 21, 2008: Message edited by: biznaz ]

gimli

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: 2 ?'s, "thief has stolen a..." and difficulty
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2008, 07:17:00 pm »

quote:
Originally posted by biznaz:
<STRONG>First I'd like to say thanks to The Great Toaded One, I'm loving DF.  I just started playing a couple days ago.