Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Channeling!  (Read 1651 times)

weirdbeard

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Channeling!
« on: May 17, 2008, 03:52:00 pm »

I used to play back when this game was 2D (No Z-Axis) and whilst I -was- a total noob, I did figure out how to channel, before my motherboard blew up and I didn't redownload DF for a great length of time.

Now, I'm experimenting with the flows of magma and water, to try and get a magma forge running under the new system, without completely blitzing my fort. I figured that, like in the 2D version, if I channeled water from the source, the channel would fill safely, and not overflow. But I can't even get the channel dug! When I designate an area to be channeled, the miners won't go anywhere near it, sometimes flashing as a question mark when they have approached it (if they dug next to, as I got them to do whilst trying to fix this). I've tried building stairs to the above and below z-levels nearby, and mining from the above z-level  to be above the channel, nothing's working. I've read every page in the wiki related to levels, mining, magma, water and fluids, and so I have signed up here to ask one simple question.

How the FUCK does channeling work!?

engel Bestraratheg, Mayor: Life is, in a word, pregnancy.

Lyrax

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Channeling!
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2008, 03:55:00 pm »

Channeling destroys the floor of the current tile AND the wall of the tile directly below it.  Much of the time, you'll want to dig out your tunnels with regular mining, and then channel the very last one.  Or even just dig them all out.  Channeling large areas at a time is difficult, to say the least.
Witty

Comedian
Dabbling Pacifier
Dabbling Judge of Intent
Skilled Forum Poster

weirdbeard

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2008, 04:01:00 pm »