Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Help me out regarding updates.  (Read 1170 times)

Szkeptik

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Help me out regarding updates.
« on: February 10, 2012, 02:58:44 pm »

So I'm new to Dwarf Fortress and am really loving it so far. My question is, that as I'm reading about all the possible future updates to the game, Fortress mode and Adventure mode seem to be talked about without any kind of distinction and it's often very difficult to understand when someone is talking about updates to the former or the latter. Why is this?
Are these two modes being updates side by side, or do all updates function in both of them?

Also I've read somewhere about a 2d and 3d thing but I have no idea what that means...

Loud Whispers

• Bay Watcher
  • They said we have to aim higher, so we dug deeper.
    • View Profile
    • I APPLAUD YOU SIRRAH
Re: Help me out regarding updates.
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2012, 03:04:42 pm »

Adv. mode and Fortress mode are pretty much interconnected, it just so happens to be that most of the updates affecting Fortress mode greatly affect adv. mode as well ;)

rhesusmacabre

• Bay Watcher
  • UNDEAD-CANNOT BE ATTACKED
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2012, 03:13:54 pm »

Some updates are focused on fort mode, others on adventure mode, but big updates like this one will affect both modes. For example, the next version will feature werebeasts, vampires and necromancers in both.
Also I've read somewhere about a 2d and 3d thing but I have no idea what that means...
Originally DF was played on a single z-level.

monk12

• Bay Watcher
  • Sorry, I AM a coyote
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2012, 03:21:22 pm »